November, 2020

Dear TLA Community:

What powerful, important times we are facing. Hard things are happening, but there are also moving and hopeful examples of people coming together to make good things happen, as well.

How do we, as a community of transformative language artists, use the power of our voices to rise up, and do what needs to be done to protect our communities, our democracy? 

How do we face down our fears of being visible, of speaking our truths, of saying what needs to be said? 

If ever there was a moment to speak, it would be now - our voices and our words matter more than ever.

We can do this. We can build the just world we all want and need.

We are pleased to announce a series of fall and winter offerings geared towards bringing our community together. The series, TLA in Action: Connection, Collaboration & Community, is designed to showcase some of the important work TLA Network members are doing across a variety of fronts, while offering affordable options that are welcoming and inclusive of all. The series will feature a special evening of poets, storytellers, and other TLA artists sharing their work in early December. We hope you will join us in celebrating our community's many strengths and talents!  See the schedule of events, below.


To the Power of Words,  

Hanne Weedon

Managing Director

1. Writing to this Moment: Taking Uncertainty to the Page

Zoom workshop

Sundays, Oct 18 - Nov 8

3-6pm EST

with Joanna Tebbs Young

Fee: $125 ($105 for members)


2. 
A Virtual Greenhouse: Cultivating, Nurturing, and Sustaining Creative Growth through Literary Friendship

Zoom roundtable discussion, moderated by Kelly DuMar

Friday, December 4

2-3:30pm EST // 1-2:30 PM CST // 11-12:30 AM PST

Liz Burke, Rachel Gabriel, & Diane Glass

Fee: pay what you can


3. Storytelling for Families: Virtual Camp Out

Online workshop
Saturday, December 5

7-8:30pm EST // 6-7:30pm CST // 4-5:30pm PST

Lyn Ford

Fee: $25 ($15 for members)


4. TLA in Action: Connection, Collaboration, & Community

TLA Reading

Wednesday, December 9

6-7:30 EST // 5-6:30 CST // 3-4:30 PST 

Featuring: Usha AkellaTaina Asili, Joseph Bruchac, Liz BurkeAda Cheng, Lisa Chu, Kelly DuMar, Lyn FordDorothy Randall GrayCallid Keefe-Perry, Caryn Mirriam-GoldbergMohsin Mohi Ud DinLaura Packer

Fee: pay what you can 


5. What is TLA? 

Zoom roundtable discussion

Early January 2021

Liz Burke, Kelly DuMar, Lyn Ford, Vanita Leatherwood, Brenda MagnettiCaleb Winebrenner, & Joanna Tebbs Young

Fee: pay what you can 

Welcome to the TLA Network!

We bring together and lift up individuals and organizations that promote forms of the spoken, written, and sung word as a tool for personal and communal transformation. 

We offer:


Get Certified in TLA

We offer a certification in Transformative Language Arts Foundations, an introduction to TLA in theory and practice with a focus on ethical work, community networking, and TLA in action. To learn more, go here.

"The Transformative Language Arts Network" is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 873 Lansdowne, PA 19050 USA

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software